The Wadey Centre provides visitor information services and is home to the Blackfalds & Area Historical Society.
The facility is wheelchair accessible and has public washrooms. It is bordered by the scenic Denise Nielsen Memorial Park, which offers picnic areas and spaces for photos and family friendly outdoor activities.
Visitors and residents are invited to stop in to get information on regional tourism attractions and events; view the displays on local history; enjoy a beverage or snack; sign out a game to play in the park, and buy a memento from a local businesses or artisan.
The Blackfalds & Area Historical Society
The Blackfalds & Area Historical Society was incorporated in 2005 and is the curator of the Blackfalds Archives, which collects and preserves items representing the rich history of Blackfalds and area. The Society also hosts displays of local artifacts for the public to enjoy.
The Wadey Centre is a historic T. Eaton house built in 1916, by early settler George Wadey. George, wife Mary and their family lived in the home and were active, engaged Blackfalds residents for many years. In 2015, the Town received Canada 150 Community Infrastructure funds to help with the restoration of the house.
The home was moved from its original location south of Iron Ridge Elementary to the southwest corner of All Star Park. It now provides the community with visitor information services and houses the Blackfalds & Area Historical Society.
See the dramatic move here. Courtesy of Scott Builders
Tuesday - Saturday 9:30 am - 4:30 pm
Sunday 11:30 am - 4:30 pm
Wadey Visitor Information Centre Town of Blackfalds 4400 South St Blackfalds, AB T0M 0J0