Skip to Main Content Show Search


Town of Blackfalds sharing regional Transit responsibilities

posted on Jul 18 2018

Blackfalds, Alberta (July 18, 2018) – The Town of Blackfalds has struck a committee to work with its regional partners at the City of Lacombe in an advisory capacity as the Regional Transit Committee for the BOLT Transit System.

“This is an important partnership we share with the City of Lacombe,” states Mayor Richard Poole. He adds, “We recognize the value of ongoing communication between the two municipalities and the importance of having a mechanism to discuss regional transit matters.”

In 2012, a Regional Transit Partnership was formed between the City of Red Deer, the Town of Blackfalds and the City of Lacombe to provide public transit service between Red Deer, Blackfalds and Lacombe as well as add local bus service to Blackfalds and Lacombe. During the past years there has been a positive uptake in this program initiative. To sustain this program, both Councils recently approved the Burman University Proposal that included a schedule adjustment that would add a fifth evening trip during the week that would allow a later final trip for students and commuters to get home at night.

“This is a great opportunity to offer an added service to our community,” adds Mayor Poole. “And now, the opportunity to work closely with our partners at the City of Lacombe and open the doors for other partners, should they wish to join this initiative.”

The committee would serve as an advisory body to both Councils and make recommendations for improving the service and monitoring key performance indicators with the objective to advance maximum utilization and efficiency of the service. The committee would seek, receive and respond to citizen feedback and would report back to Council on a bi-annual basis. The committee as structured for Council’s consideration would include two Councillors and one citizen-at-large from each municipality, while Administration, Red Deer Transit and Burman University would serve as non-voting participants.

For more information about this and other bylaws and town news, visit our website at



For more information:

Myron Thompson

Chief Administrative Officer



Dean Turnquist

Communications Officer